The Confederation of African Football (CAF) have revealed the shortlist for the 2012 African player of the year award. The 10-man list was decided by CAF's technical, football and media committees.

The Awards Gala has been scheduled to take place in Ghana on December 20 and the eventual winners will be decided via a vote by Head coaches and technical directors from CAF member associations.

Unlike lastyear when no Nigerian made the list, Chelsea's John Obi Mikel is the only Nigerian shortlisted for the award.


1) Alexandre Song, Cameroon

2) Andre Ayew, Ghana

3) Christopher Katongo, Zambia

4) Demba Ba, Senegal

5) Didier Drogba, Cote D'Ivoire

6) Gervinho, Cote D'Ivoire

7) John Obi Mikel, Nigeria

8) Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Gabon

9) Yaya Toure, Cote D'Ivoire

10) Younes Belhanda, Morocco


1. National Team of the Year

2. Women's Footballer of the Year

3. Women's National Team of the Year

4. Club of the Year

5. Most Promising Talent of the Year

6. Coach of the Year

7. Referee of the Year

8. Legend Award

9. Fair Play Award

10. Platinum Award

11. Africa Finest XI

Sent from my BlackBerry wireless device from MTN


Ololade is a passionate writer, Loyal Nigerian and Creative Director of Loladeville .

Post A Comment:


  1. I'm sure for this year, Didier Drogba will won this award. He made big contribution for chelsea to win Champions League and FA Cup in 2012...Drogba is the best!!